_Huntington Beach Police Department

2000 Main Street, Huntington Beach, CA 92648
(714) 260-8811
Robert Handy, Chief of Police

MEDIA ADVISORY Sergeant Julio Mendez, Traffic Unit

Release Date/Time: February 21, 2017 at 9:00 AM

Subject: DUI/Drivers License Checkpoint this Friday, February 24, 2017.
Case Number: N/A

Details:

The Huntington Beach Police Department Traffic Unit will be conducting a DUI/Drivers License
Checkpoint on February 24, 2017, between the hours of 7:00 PM and 3:00 AM.

The deterrent effect of DUI checkpoints is a proven resource in reducing the number of persons
killed and injured in alcohol or drug involved crashes. Research shows that crashes involving an
impaired driver can be reduced by up to 20 percent when well-publicized DUI checkpoints and
proactive DUI patrols are conducted routinely. DUI Checkpoints are placed in locations based on
collision statistics and frequency of DUI arrests, affording the greatest opportunity for achieving
drunk and drugged driving deterrence. Locations are chosen with safety considerations for the
officers and the public.

Nationally, traffic fatalities increased 7.2 percent — from 32,744 fatalities in 2014 to 35,092
fatalities in 2015. In California, Traffic fatalities increased 2.4 percent from 3,102 in 2014 to
3,176 in 2015. Over the course of the past three years the Huntington Beach Police Department
has investigated 817 DUI collisions which have claimed 8 lives and resulted in another 271
injuries.

Officers will be looking for signs of alcohol and/or drug impairment with officers checking
drivers for proper licensing delaying motorists only momentarily. When possible, specially
trained officers will be available to evaluate those suspected of drug-impaired driving, which
now accounts for a growing number of impaired driving crashes.

In 2015, 19 percent of all drivers killed in motor vehicle crashes, who were tested, tested positive
for legal and/ or illegal drugs. According to the 2013-2014 NHTSA National Roadside Survey,
22.5 percent of weekend, nighttime drivers tested positive for illegal, prescription, or over- the-
counter drugs that could cause driving impairment. More than 15 percent tested positive for
illicit drugs, and more than 12 percent tested positive for THC (delta 9 tetrahydrocannabinol),
which is a four percent increase from the 2007 survey. An additional 2009 NHTSA study tested
fatally injured drivers and found that nationally 18 percent tested positive for at least one illicit,
prescription, or over-the-counter drug.

Law Enforcement emphasizes the preventable nature of drunk driving reminding everyone that
all it takes is a little planning ahead. Designate a sober driver or call a cab. But whatever you do,
don’t drink and drive. The California Office of Traffic Safety DDVIP (Designated Driver VIP)
mobile app is now available for free download on iOS and Android devices. The new DDVIP
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app offers enhanced features, allowing users to “Map a Spot” with their current location to find
DDVIP partnering establishments in their area or a “List of Spots™ to search all participating bars
and restaurants throughout California. Users will be offered free incentives at each bar to
celebrate their life saving role. They can stay up-to-date with the latest from DDVIP and see
what other users are saying via its social tab. Also through the app, for those who want to imbibe
but also make it a point to plan ahead, users can easily order a sober ride from Uber, Lyft or Curb
—all from one screen.

Drivers caught driving impaired can expect the impact of a DUI arrest to include jail time, fines,
fees, DUI classes, other expenses that can exceed $10,000 not to mention the embarrassment
when friends and family find out.

Funding for this checkpoint is provided to the Huntington Beach Police Department by a grant

from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety
Administration, reminding everyone to ‘Report Drunk Driver — Call 9-1-1°.
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