Citizen Participation Advisory Board

Mission StatementThe mission of the Citizen Participation Advisory Board is to submit recommendations to City Council on allocations for Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funds.

BackgroundThe role of the CPAB is to review applications submitted by eligible organizations seeking funding from the City's annual allocation of CDBG funding, and then recommend groups with associated funding levels to City Council. The CPAB strives to represent the diverse views on the socioeconomic issues related to low/moderate income individuals and, thus, representation by low/moderate income and minority groups is encouraged.

The Board annually holds two public hearings to obtain citizen input various community needs related to the program and hears presentations from each eligible applicant. CPAB recommendations for CDBG funding are submitted to City Council for approval at a public hearing during a City Council meeting, typically held in the month of April.

Meeting Dates/Times  The CPAB meets one evening per month between the months of January and June, with additional meetings scheduled to conduct CPAB business on an as-needed basis.  All meetings are open to the public and can be viewed on the City's calendar. Special meetings may be called in conformance with the Ralph M. Brown Act.   

Citizens at LargeAs part of an ongoing effort to evaluate projects and programs proposed during the planning process, citizens are encouraged to attend meetings and communicate with CPAB members and staff regarding the needs of the community. Citizens can send written correspondence to the staff liaison, who will coordinate responses. Every effort will be made to respond in writing to those individuals who submit proposals or written comments within fifteen working days where practical.

VacanciesAn appointment made by individual City Council members is a four-year term of service.  In the event a member retires or is unable to complete their term, an appointment shall be made to fill the remainder of the unexpired term.

Meeting Agendas & Minutes Current Agendas & Minutes      (Post-2019)

Archived Agendas & Minutes     (Pre-2019)


Board Member Appointed By
Mike Massie Tony Strickland
Michael Hoskinson Gracey Van Der Mark
Jeanne Paris Pat Burns
Jonathon Hammel Casey McKeon
Ken Inouye Dan Kalmick
Macey Lachman Natalie Moser
Gigi Jackson Rhonda Bolton