Main Street Branch

Main Street Branch

525 Main Street

Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Phone: (714) 375-5071

The Main Street Library Branch is located 5 blocks up from the H.B. pier at 525 Main Street.

 

Main Street Calendar of Events

Click here for a calendar view of this month's events.
Click here for a list of all Main Street programs in November.

Hours of Operation

Monday CLOSED
Tuesday 9 AM - 6 PM
Wednesday 9 AM - 6 PM
Thursday 9 AM - 6 PM
Friday 9 AM - 5 PM
Saturday 9 AM - 5 PM
Sunday CLOSED

 


Click here to find... 

  • A behind-the-scenes look at Main Street Library's Historical Photo Exhibit 

Shape 

Used Book Sales 

The Friends of the Library operate a used books store at Main Street, which is open the same hours as the library branch. Donations of books are accepted and most welcome during library hours. Those who need assistance bringing in their donations are encouraged to call the library ahead of their arrival. The branch will accept up to two boxes or two large bags of donations.  For larger donations, please contact the Central Library.

 

Computers & Internet 

  • Free Wi-Fi is available - no password required. 

  • 15 cents per page for black and white laser printing from the Computer Lab. 

  • 15 cents per page for black and white photocopies from the photocopy machine. 

  • Computer Lab is open Tues to Thur 9:00am to 5:45pm / Fri and Sat 9:00am to 4:45pm. 

  • Each cardholder gets one hour of computer time per day with the possibility to extend for two additional hours based on availability.

 

Adult Recurring Programs 

  • Lunch Book Club: The third Thursday of every month.  Come spend your lunch hour with us while discussing a great book. Bring your lunch and a copy of the month's book, we’ll provide desserts!   

  • Romance Book Club: Ready to spill the tea on romance books? Join our romance-only book club! Fans of Bridgerton or Happily Ever Afters (HEAs) will enjoy this club as we discuss all things romance (18+ only). 

  • Crafter’s Corner: Ms Marina leads a monthly craft specially designed for our patrons. Open to adults, teens, and tweens, under 16 must be accompanied by an adult.

 

Children's Recurring Programs 

  • Family Storytime & Playtime: Wednesdays at 10 and 11 am. Come enjoy an all-ages Family Storytime! This storytime will be fun for the whole family, and is suited for all ages. Tickets are required to attend storytime and are available at the Main Street Library desk. Enjoy stories and songs, then stay and play with your storytime friends!

  • Little Lego Club: Join us on the first Friday of each month, after school, to build, play, and have fun. Each club will feature a different challenge, as well as free building time. We can't wait to see you there! Open to ages 4-9, siblings welcome. Must be accompanied by an adult. Overhead lights will be off, but please bring headphones if noise is an issue. 

  • Family Craft Hour: Every month Main Street Branch hosts a seasonal craft hour.  Enjoy this monthly program with the whole family.  Check the Events Calendar for dates. 

  • Creativity Corner: Fridays and Saturdays 9:30am-4:30pm Children and their families are welcome to stop by to make a fun craft while visiting the Branch!

 

Teen Programs 

  • Teen Chess Game: Looking to try out chess or want to start a friendly game with another patron? Try our chess game! Located in the teen section, our Star Wars chess set is open all day and waiting for you to come play. 

  • Teen ‘n Tween Lego Club: Join us on the second Thursday of each month, after school, to build, create, and have fun. Each club will feature a different challenge, as well as free building time. We can't wait to see you there! Open to ages 11 and over, siblings welcome. Overhead lights will be off, but please bring headphones if noise is an issue.

 

Volunteer Opportunities 

The Main Street Library Branch warmly welcomes individuals who would like to make a difference in their community by volunteering. Opportunities include: 

  • Program Volunteer 

  • General Library Helper 

  • Special Projects Helper 

  • Summer Reading Program Volunteer 

  • Volunteer Page (shelving and straightening library materials) 

Volunteer opportunities are available every day of the week, including Saturdays, with flexible schedules and are a great way to connect, learn something new, have fun, and help someone who needs you! Please contact the library for details at (714) 375-5071, or fill out an adult volunteer application or teen volunteer application to be dropped off at the library.

 

Library Facts 

The Main Street Library has just celebrated its 70th birthday. On Sunday, September 30, 1951, the new library building at 525 Main Street was dedicated by Mayor Vernon Langenbeck. The library was built at a cost of $140,000. Members of the Library Board at the time of the dedication were Pearl M. Jones, president, Berta Tovatt, J. K. McDonald, Edith Vavra, and G. H. Hasson, and the first librarian was Lylyan Mossinger. This library served as the main library from 1951 up until April 1975 when the Central Library was finished. The architectural firm of McLellan, MacDonald and Marcwith designed the Main Street Branch as part of the Civic Center. The 4,500 sq ft building resides on a 9,034 square feet lot. The Main St Branch was renovated in 2008 with the installation of new carpeting, tile flooring, and paint. Wireless Internet services (Wi-Fi) and an expanded computer lab were also added that year. 

The Main Street Branch Library was placed on the National Register of Historic Places by the United States Department of the Interior on April 16, 2013. 

In November of 2019, the branch celebrated the installation of thirty new historical photos. This beautiful collection features many aspects of Huntington Beach's past, including the first libraries, early prominent figures and leaders, various City celebrations and buildings, the City's three piers, and the surfing culture of Surf City. 


Did you know?


Solar chimneys are passive solar ventilation systems. Shafts connect the interior and exterior of the building. The functioning can be improved by glazing and using thermal mass materials.  Learn more about solar.

Library Home
Library Catalog
Events / News
Children's Library
Teen Space
[email protected]
Genealogy
Back to Top  up-arrow