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The Huntington Beach Police Department Makes 38 Arrests for
Suspected Driving Under the Influence as Part of the “Drive Sober or
Get Pulled Over” Campaign

To help keep our community safe during the busy late summer and Labor Day
weekend travel season, the Huntington Beach Police Department (HBPD)
deployed additional officers August 18, 2021 through September 6, 2021 (Labor
Day) looking for drivers suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol and/or
drugs. These increased efforts to address impaired driving are part of the national
enforcement campaign, Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over.

During the Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over campaign, the HBPD arrested 38 drivers
suspected of driving under the influence (DUI). Those 38 individuals were arrested
for the following:

e 22 drivers were arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol.

e 10 drivers were arrested for driving under the influence of drugs.

e 2 drivers were arrested for driving under the influence of a combination of
drugs and alcohol.

e 4 drivers were arrested for felony driving under the influence and causing
traffic collisions that resulted in injury.

The HBPD wishes to remind everyone to stay safe and never drive distracted or
impaired. Driving while impaired is not just from alcohol, it may also include
prescription drugs, over-the-counter medications and marijuana. If you plan on
drinking or taking medications with a driving warning label, let someone who is
sober drive. If you see someone driving impaired, call 9-1-1.

So far this year, the HBPD has investigated five DUI collisions that killed seven
people and injured four others.

Throughout California, 45 people were killed in crashes over the 2019 Labor Day
holiday period, and the California Highway Patrol made more than 1,000 arrests
for driving under the influence during the 78-hour Labor Day weekend
enforcement period alone.
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First-time charges for DUl are an average of $13,500 in fines and penalties, which
could include a suspended license.

Funding for the Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over program was provided by a grant
from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic
Safety Administration.
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